Pumpkin Carving in the USA

Halloween is coming up (October 31), and in my opinion, the USA is the best place to celebrate this holiday. Grocery stores are full of pumpkins, costumes, candy, and orange and black decorations.  There are special events where kids dress up in really cute costumes, and then there’s pumpkin carving. I love carving pumpkins!

Even though pumpkin carving happens in many places in the world, I find it something typically American.

Cleaning the pumpkin

It is important to clean the pumpkin by removing all the seeds and insides.

Many people can get their pumpkins at the grocery store. However, it is more fun to get your pumpkin at the pumpkin patch where all different sized pumpkins grow. This past weekend, I went there with my host family to pick out the perfect pumpkin. The kids in my host family grabbed a wheelbarrow to take out on the field. They wanted to find the biggest pumpkin they could, to take home.

After we got the pumpkin home, the first thing we did was to cut the of the pumpkin. When the lid was off, the kids and I cleaned out all the seeds and pulp to make the carving easier. It was fun to get all covered in pumpkin slime. My host mom and host sister made an awesome design for the two non eatable pumpkins and drew nice figures on the eatable pumpkins. When the insides were removed, my host dad cut out the shape. When he was done, we put a little candle in it and set the pumpkin in front of the door, ready for Halloween.

Pumpkin with candle

We put a candle in the pumpkin and put it on the front porch.

Last year I dressed up like Kermit the Frog and went trick or treating with the all the kids. It was a lot of fun.  This year I plan to go again and I think I will dress up as a dutch farmer.

Leave a Reply

