Bachelor of Applied Science

Why Applied Science, friends and family ask? Why is a degree in Applied Science so unique, they wonder? ‘’Because I don’t just want to learn a concept… I want to immediately know how to use that information.’’ And I am not alone in this. I see people every day who want to know what they can do, right now, with the concepts they learn about in todays and tomorrows classes. 

It was during Introduction to Natural Resources (NATRS100) two and a half years ago, where after we learned about different tree measurements through a lecture, that we went outside and actually started measuring tree heights using a laser and clinometer. I’m currently in my third year working towards my Bachelor of Applied Science in Forest Resources Management, and the hands-on experience didn’t stop when I started taking 300 & 400-level classes. About a week ago in Wildlife Ecology class (NATRS461) we were given a lecture on animal surveying techniques. Then just the other day, me and my classmates were standing in big puddles of water looking for amphibian egg masses and found a rough-skinned newt (a type of salamander) in the meantime! 

Something I’ve always struggled with throughout my time in school and college in The Netherlands, is transferring what is taught in a classroom to the real world. However, with an applied science degree, whether that is an associate’s in applied science (AAS) or a bachelor’s in applied science degree (BAS), I will be able to start an internship or real-life job tomorrow! If I were asked today to delineate a wetland, design timber harvest units or write up a planting plan for a restoration site, I would be hesitant at first yet confident I would know how to do this. Remember that when you love what you study, are interested in it and want to turn that thing into a career, it doesn’t always feel like school to begin with!

Learn more about all of the Green River College Bachelor of Applied Science programs here: https://www.greenriver.edu/students/academics/degrees-programs/bachelor-of-applied-science/

Leave a comment